What You Need to Know About Big Bash League Cricket

The KFC Big Bash League is among the world-renowned cricket tournaments held annually. The year 2022 sees Australia staging the 12th season of the tournament. 

Photo by Aqib Shahid: https://www.pexels.com/photo/cricket-bats-on-the-wall-5367483/

The recent modernization of the tournament format, rules, and betting options, has seen a tremendous increase in betting participation from across the globe. Bitcoin bets on BBL cricket are one of the many adjustments in BBL betting options by several sportsbooks. 

History of the Big Bash League

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an Australian Twenty20 (T20) cricket league founded by Cricket Australia in 2011. Since its inception, the competition has been sponsored by KFC. As a result, it is commonly referred to as the KFC Big Bash League. The league was launched after the success of the Indian Premier League (IPL), and its first season, 2011-12, proved to be a successful start for the tournament in Australia. The BBL has eight city-based franchises like the IPL and ranks in tenth place among the domestic sports leagues in the world based on average attendance.

The tournament was originally known as the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash due to its primary sponsor, Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC). However, the tournament is called the Big Bash League in most cricketing circles. The first tournament featured state teams competing against each other on a point system. The tournament has now switched to city-based franchises so that each state may have more than one team. However, the format remains the same.

The rise in popularity of BBL is also tied to the fact that the top two teams in the competition are automatically selected to compete in the annual Champions League Twenty 20 tournament. This tournament features four IPL teams and two teams from other leagues.

Big Bash League (BBL) Teams

There are eight city-based franchises in the tournament, each team representing the state’s capital in Australia. They Include:

  • Adelaide Strikers,
  • Brisbane Heat,
  • Hobart Hurricanes,
  • Melbourne Renegades,
  • Melbourne Stars,
  • Perth Scorchers,
  • Sydney Sixers,
  • Sydney Thunder.

Big Bash League (BBL) Past Winners

2011-12Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth ScorchersWACA Ground
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart HurricanesWACA Ground
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney SixersManuka Oval
2015-16Sydney ThundersMelbourne StarsMCG
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney SixersWACA Ground
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne StarsDocklands Stadium
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne StarsSCG
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth ScorchersSCG
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney SixersDocklands Stadium

BBL Prize Money

Cricket Australia increased the tournament prize money to $890,000 for the 2015-16 season, which will be split among five teams. The prize money hasn’t changed since then, as the 2022-23 season follows the same prize structure. The breakdown is as follows:

  • Champions – $450,000
  • Runners up – $260,000
  • 3rd and 4th placed teams – $80,000 each
  • 5th placed team – $20,000

To Sum Up

Coming from a successful run of 11 consecutive cricket competitions, the BBL is amazing. However, without a forehand knowledge of BBL history, past winners, teams, and developed format, you may lose sight of the many excitements embedded in the game. Everything you need to know about the Big Bash League History is embedded in this guide