Best To Worst IPL Teams


There is nothing more popular than cricket in India and nothing more important than IPL in Indian cricket. Well, after the World Cup, of course.

IPL has been around for only more than a decade and is still the most-attended cricket league globally. Just as the franchise has its fan following, every team does too. The support can be for the state or city, the line-up or simply the mind-jerking performances. 

List of Top Indian Premier League Teams Ranked

We have created a list of all IPL teams gracing the stadiums, ranking them from best to worst. While every Indian does watch the game for its love, all of them do have a favorite. Let’s see where yours stands.

IPL has taken the shape of an annual festival in India. Each team with its own set of fans has rivalries, predictions, discussions, and hopes. In a game where the tables can be turned at any moment, every Indian pays close attention to the cricket live scores. Hoping that the next time they refresh the page, their favorite team has taken that winning shot.

1.Chennai Super Kings:

A clean sweep at every tournament, CSK tops our list. The team has a relentless history of entering the playoffs consecutively. Having won the title thrice in 2010, 2011 and 2018, they have played the finale about eight times.

The only time they didn’t wow the crowd were the two years in which they were suspended. CSK has a balanced squad with the likes of Sam Curran, Suresh Raina, Faf Du Plessis and Shane Watson. With MS Dhoni at the helm, they are always a delight to watch.

2.Mumbai Indians:

Asthe most successful and most followed team in IPL, Mumbai Indians have 4 IPL titles and 2 Champions League T20 trophies lying on their shelves. Starting the squad is the top opener for India, Rohit Sharma, who also wears the captain’s cap in this XI.

Banking on their talent, Hardik Pandya, JaspritBumrah and Krunal Pandya have delivered phenomenal performances over time. Players like Kieron Pollard keep the foreign mantle high. MI is the only team to have bounced back to win the title after losing the first five matches.

3.Kolkata Knight Riders:

Holder of two IPL titles, the KKR team has a somewhat erratic history when it comes to the game. Still, they do sport a batting line-up that strikes fear and bowlers that play well even on a bad day. Consistent or not, is a force to reckon with.

The team has won consecutively 14 matches, making them the only team to do so. Owned by stars like Shahrukh Khan and Juhi Chawla, KKR also has an enormous following and brand value.

4.Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Making their first appearance in 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad has always been a heavy bowling side. Transforming from the original Hyderabad Deccan Chargers, the orange army came on its own with Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar leading this bowling attack.

Their unpredictable style sent the best strikers home in no time. The batting order holds its weight under David Warner, who also captains the team. They even went to win the 2016 title by defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore by a close eight runs.

5. Rajasthan Royals:

The first winners of IPL, Rajasthan Royals, bagged the crown against all expectations in 2008. But, it has been a downward slope since then. They reached the 3rd position in 2013 and even made it to the playoffs in the 2015 and 2018 editions.

Awaiting their second trophy, the team has a balanced order with the experience ofJos Buttler, Steve Smith, and Ben Stokes driving their game. Known as the “Moneyball” team, they scout unconventional players that bring something new every time.

6.Delhi Capitals:

Reinventing itself in 2019, the Delhi Daredevils were named Delhi Capitals. The Shreyas Iyer-led team has created stiff completion for the cup with a mix of talent and strategy. Sadly, they have never made it to the IPL finals. The squad also has a record of not clearing the first stage about eight times.

Always looking to change things up, DC has some heavyweights in its line-up that hopefully can bring some victory to the table.

7.Royal Challengers Bangalore:

One of the strongest teams on paper, RCB have never topped the tournament. The most exciting phase of the group was when Kohli, Gayle and De Villiers peaked. The whole nation was drooling for their next innings then.

Having lost the finale in 2009, 2011 and 2016, they have the mettle to make it big. Named as the “underachievers” of the game, RCB boasts some of the best players who need to work in sync to give this team the recognition it truly deserves.

8.Kings XI Punjab:

Coached by Anil Kumble, the KL Rahul-led team has reached the final only once and lost the same to KKR. They have appeared in the playoffs only on one occasion apart from this. One of the first teams for IPL, the Mohali-based franchise, is yet to see consistency on the field.

They showed their best colours in 2014 when Glenn Maxwell took the game by storm. Despite their average performances, the team has a massive fan following, thanks to the co-ownership by PrietyZinta.