Chile national football team

Chile national football team History

chile national football team

La Roja,( Chile National Football Team) The Red Ones is widely commonplace in the football galaxy for the vicious team of South America Chile, In South America, they say La Roja is the team of Every person, this sort of faith the inhabitant of the nation of Chile towards their National football team.

Federacion de Futbol de Chile( The football board of  La Roja which was established in 1895 controlled the national football team of Chile in major football tournaments.

The Chile national board is the second oldest football federation board in South America, Chile is one of the four founding members of the nations of CONMEBOL, Along with the other three South American giants Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay.

Chile national football team World cup journey

They are among the top thirteen teams who took part in the inaugural world cup in 1930,

They hosted the world cup in their own soil in the year of 1962 where they ended up in the third-place which is still now their best record in the stage like the world cup.

Though despite their elated footballing history they have blemishes in their footballing pride for the incident  which took place in 1989 which known as “El Maracanazo”,

For the 1990 world cup qualifying match which was  held against Brazil in Maracana where Chile needed the win to qualify for the world cup stages ,but the visitors were drowning by 1-0 goals to Brazil.

where during the match the Chilean goalkeeper Roberto Rojas fell on the ground with the certain injury marks on his forehead.

A firework has been thrown from the Brazilian fans stands towards him and it was fumigating on the pitch, after the incident the rest Chilean players refuse to continue the match with safety precautions.

Though in the video check FIFA found out the firework did not hit Rojas at all and he intentionally has done that by his own so they take a tough call against Chile national team by banning them from the FIFA qualifiers of world cup 1994 and banning Rojas for lifelong from this beautiful game of football.

Chile national football team Achievements

Though they do not have that rich footballing history like their neighboring countries like Brazil and Argentina nowadays they are competing for nip and tuck to their counterparts in every stage.

In 2015 they hosted the Copa America in their own turf and in the finale they gobsmack the whole world by defeating the contender Argentina in the penalties and lifted the Cope America crown for the first time in their footballing history and yet they did not stop there.

In the very next year again they repeat the history by winning Copa America in 2016 in USA defeating their fierce rivals Argentina in the finals again in the penalties, Prior to this they had been runners up in this competitions on four occasions.

Chile national football team Kits

The Red one endues the Red jersey, Blue shorts, and white socks, and in away games they endure White jersey,white shorts and blue socks, The Chilean national team first unveiled their jersey in the 1947 South American competition.

Since then it was the colour which the Chile national team wore in their every match, in 2016 they introduced the Red shorts as an option for the first time as a choice.

Earlier German multinational company Puma was the official kit supplier of this footballing national, but now they have tied up with the American based organization Nike, and they have taken the responsibility to supply their official kit till 2022 world cup.

Chile national football team National stadium

Estadio Nacional Julio Martínez Prádanos is the fortress of the Chilean football team which is located at Santiago, this national stadium was opened on December 3rd, 1938.

Currently, the official registered capacity of this stadium is 49000, but it has surpassed 75000 marks on many incidents.

This famous stadium has hosted some pivotal matches like 1962 world cup Semi finals and final and also four Copa America finals.

Current position

Reinaldo Rueda is the head coach of the Chile national football team and Gary Medal is leading the Chile national football team.

Alexis Sanchez is the top scorer of Chile, so far he has racked 43 goals for them in his 131 appearances for the La Rojas in the all competitions, An under coach Rueda they are sitting at the 17th position in the current FIFA rankings.

Chile National team Iconic players

South American football reflects skill, touch and they produce beautiful football to their fans, Chile is no way apart from this trend, throughout this following year they have produced few polarising characters who have put their mark on this game.

We would love to give just concise about that iconic player who represents the La Roja in the big stages and won accolades for their beloved nation.

Alexis Sanchez:

In Chile people call him by the name of the wonder child; He has been regular  Chilean national cap holder since the year of 2006.

In the age of 17 Alexis Alejandro Sánchez began his footballing career  Cobreloa before moving to Italy and play for them since 2006, in the first season he got loaned out to other teams and won trophies in loan spell with the Argentine giants River plate and in the year of 2008 he has made s spot in the Udinese first team.

After this three magical season with the Italian giants, he moved to the Spanish giants Barcelona, with the Spanish giants he has won trophies like Copa Del Rey, UEFA Super Cup, and FIFA Club world cup.

From Barcelona, he moved to England and played four seasons with the English giants Arsenal and from there he moved to Manchester United and now he has returned back to Italy with Inter Milan.

He is one of the most integral members of Chile national team who won back to back Copa America crown in the year of 2015 and in 2016.

Arturo Vidal:

Arturo Erasmo Vidal Pardo is one of the most magnum characters of the Chile national team, many refer him as the warrior, and he fights for every ball and hard-working box to box midfielder.

The 32-year-old is now playing with the La Liga giants Barcelona, but just like Sanchez he also began his career with Cola-Cola.

Then he moved to the German league Bayern Leverkusen and after a four-year stint with the German side he moved to the Italian giants Juventus and won Seira A with them for consecutive times.

In 2015 he returned back to Munich and won three Bundesliga titles with the German giants and now he is with the Barcelona.

Arturo Vidal played scintillating football for his country in their triumph over Argentina in both Copa America finals where he scored Crucial spot-kicks in the penalty shoot out’s and gave his country their first accolade in 2015 and defends their title in 2016.

Claudio Bravo:

Chile has won their two major accolades under the leadership of Claudio Andrés Bravo Muñoz, Who guided his team in two consecutive Copa Americ victories against their arch-rivals Argentina in 2015 and in 2016.

He began his career with the Cola-Cola and from there he moved to La Liga with Real Sociedad and after few years with them, he moved to Barcelona and now winning many major accolades with them he is with the current English champions Manchester City.