Kohli — First Player To Win All Three Major ICC Awards

Indian skipper Virat Kohli had a wonderful 2018 year, both as a batsman and skipper. He won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year.

As a result he became the first player in cricketing history to win these three major ICC awards together. Along with that he was named the captain of ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

Kohli scored 1,322 runs in 13 Tests at an average of 55.08. This amazing numbers include five centuries as well. From 14 ODIs this year, he scored 1,202 runs at an astonishing average of 133.55. He scored six centuries in ODIs this year. Along with that he scored 211 runs in 10 T20Is.

The 30-year-old cricketer from Delhi first came into limelight in 2008. He led India to victory in ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in Malaysia. Kohli finished 2018 as the top-ranked batsman in both Test and ODI rankings.

He is also the highest scorer in both the formats in 2018. Kohli also became one of the two batsman to score more than 1000 runs in Tests. In ODIs, he is one of the three batsman to reach the 1000-run mark in a single calendar year.

More Articles Related To Virat Kohli:

Kohli was a unanimous choice

It was a unanimous decision of the Voting Academy to award Kohli with the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. South African pacer Kagiso Rabada came second.

Rabada also came as runners-up in the ICC Test Player of the Year Award. Afghan spinner Rashid Khan came second to Kohli for the ICC ODI Player of the Year award.

Kohli said, “It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation.”