5 ODI Records That Even Kohli Might Fail To Break

3. Scoring most centuries in consecutive innings

The unique record of scoring back-to-back four ODI centuries is held by former Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara. He made this record in World Cup 2015 as he hit centuries against Bangladesh, Australia, England and Scotland in a row.

On the way of making this record, Sangakkara broke the joint record of Zaheer Abbas, Saeed Anwar, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock and Ross Taylor.

After this record was made, three players including Virat Kohli, Babar Azam and Jonny Bairstow got close. But they all failed to cross the barrier of three consecutive centuries.

Kohli scored three back-to-back centuries against the Windies recently. So in order to break this record, Kohli needs to hit five consecutive centuries, which once again seems quite improbable.