India Announce 13-man Squad For Sydney Test

India is just one draw away from their maiden Test series victory on Australian soil. Virat Kohli and Co. are currently leading the four-match Test series by 2-1.

They created history by winning the third Test at Melbourne. As a result they have already retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The final action has now shifted to Sydney. The hosts will be eager to bounce back after being outplayed in Melbourne. On the contrary, India will be looking to win the Sydney Test and win the series.

They would definitely want to make the most of the ongoing momentum. After their tough losses in England and South Africa in 2018, win on Australian soil will mean a good victory in overseas conditions. Moreover it would the first time they win a Test series in Australia.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

13-man squad announced by India

Table Of Content

Prior to the beginning of the Sydney Test, India have revealed their 13-man squad for the game. The team from Melbourne has been kept except for Ishant Sharma and Rohit Sharma.

Rohit has flown back to India to attend the birth of his baby girl. Veteran Ishant has been dropped because of injury concerns. There are four new faces in the squad in the likes of Kuldeep Yadav, KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav and R Ashwin.

With Rohit back home and Hardik Pandya not named in the squad, it seems that KL Rahul will get another opportunity to open the innings. Hanuma Vihari had opened the innings in Melbourne with Mayank Agarwal. However in Sydney he might again return to the middle order.

BCCI has said that the final call on Ashwin will be taken on game-day. The veteran off-spinner had missed the last two Tests because of abdominal strain. He is still not fully fit and is recovering slowly.

In case Ashwin misses out and India decide to play with a lone spinner, then Ravindra Jadeja looks to be the likely candidate. It would be a toss-up between Kuldeep Yadav and Umesh Yadav depending on the conditions.

Here is the 13-man squad:

Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav