Cricket Australia Announces 12-Man Squad for Four-Day Warm-Up Game against India

The much-awaited India’s tour of Australia has finally arrived. The Men in Blue are set to begin their series against the Aussies with a three-match T20I series.

After that both the teams will get involved in four-match Test series which is scheduled to begin from December 6. But before that India will play a warm-up game against their opponents.

There have been much talks about the tourists cancelling or trimming their warm-up games in the previous tours. Meanwhile Cricket Australia (CA) have announced the 12-man squad for the warm-up match.

The team will be coached by Graeme Hick. The coach will be assisted by former Indian cricketer Sridharan Sriram.

Sam Whiteman is appointed as the skipper and D’Arcy Short is also included in the team. The match is scheduled to begin from November 28 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The team has been selected by the youth selection panel in consultation with State and Territory Talent Managers. The panel is headed by National Selector and National Talent Manager Greg Chappell.

Chappell felt it would great for the players to prove themselves against the top Test team. He also said that the squad has previously played for Cricket Australia XI.

“This is an excellent opportunity for these talented players to test themselves against India, the number one Test team in the world. It’s a versatile squad, with a number of players capable of contributing with bat and ball. D’Arcy Short and Param Uppal both offer valuable spin bowling, alongside their batting, with Aaron Hardie and Jonathan Merlo both capable middle-order batsmen who offer a seam-bowling option,” he said according to the media release by CA.

“Many of the players in this squad have previously played in a Cricket Australia XI during their career, and eight have played Sheffield Shield cricket. We know this is a chance for our emerging players to display their skills against a world-class opponent, and we look forward to seeing what they can do against India,” Chappell further added.

CA XI squad: Sam Whiteman (c), Max Bryant, Jake Carder, Jackson Coleman, Harry Conway, Daniel Fallins, David Grant, Aaron Hardie, Jonathan Merlo, Harry Nielsen, D’Arcy Short, Param Uppal