Bangladesh Announces Squad For World Cup 2019

Image Source : The Daily Star

After India announced their World Cup squad yesterday (April 15), their neighbors Bangladesh followed them. The most-awaited tournament is scheduled to begin from May 30 in England and Wales.

The team was announced by Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief Nazmul Hasan Papon. In the press conference at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, a 15-man squad was announced.

In recent times, Bangladesh has suffered a lot of injuries. One of their star all-rounder Mahmudullah Riyad developed a ligament injury during the away series against the Kiwis last month.

Left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman tweaked his ankle in the Dhaka Premier League One Day tournament. Reports suggest that he has been ruled out for at least a couple of weeks. Rubel Hussain, who played a vital role in Bangladesh’s quarter-final journey in 2015, also has side strain.

Mushfiqur Rahim didn’t play the Tests against the Kiwis. Tamim Iqbal has also a scare of getting injured. Shakib Al Hasan recently made a comeback after he got injured during BPL 2019 while playing for Dhaka Dynamites.

Shakib has been suffering from injuries on fingers of both hands over the last year. He had to undergo surgery which left his participation in the World Cup under clouds of doubt. His comeback will be a sigh of relief as he is currently playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2019.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Table of Contents

Squad of Bangladesh looks strong

All the above mentioned players, Mushfiqur, Mahmudullah, Rubel, Tamim, Mustafizur and Shakib, have been selected. The captain of 2015 edition, Mashrafe Mortaza, will once again lead the squad. He will be assisted by Shakib.

The unfortunate exclusion from the squad is pacer Taskin Ahmed. One of the star performers of BPL 2019 had missed the New Zealand series due to ankle injury. All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain has been selected after being left out of the 2018 Asia Cup.

Abu Jayed, who haven’t yet made his ODI debut, is also named. The other players are Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Soumya Sarkar and Mehidy Hasan Miraz. Bangladesh will begin their World Cup journey in June 2 against South Africa.

Here is the entire squad of Bangladesh:

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed