Glenn Maxwell Cheats On Field; Umpires Fail To Notice

Image Source : Twitter

India and Australia played out a thriller in Nagpur on Tuesday. It was the second ODI of the five-match ODI series. India gave a brilliant team effort and won the game by nine runs. They now lead the series by 2-0.

However the margin of the winning could have been 13 runs had the on-field umpires been careful. This is because Aussie all-rounder Glenn Maxwell clearly violated the ‘Fake Fielding’ rule. Had the umpires seen it, they would have awarded India five penalty runs.

The incident happened in the 42nd over of the Indian innings. At that time Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli were batting while the Aussie bowler was Nathan Coulter-Nile. Nathan delivered the third delivery on good length area to on-strike batsman Jadeja.

Jaddu came down the track and used the pace of the ball to guide it towards backward point. At that position Maxwell was fielding. He tried desperately but failed to stop the ball. However he acted as if he had caught the ball and attempted to throw it to the wicket-keeper. But the ball went to third-man and the batsmen completed an easy single.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Clear violation of law 41.5

Maxwell actions had clearly violated the cricketing law 41.5. The law deals with “deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of a batsman”. According to the law book, the law 41.5 says, “it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”

The Aussie player had clearly tried to false act and as a result India’s total should have been 255 instead of 250. However the law also says that it is up to the on-field umpires to decide whether the act was done to distract the batsmen or not.

“It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is wilful or not,” the law further states.

As a result the matter is arguable that whether Maxwell’s actions were deliberate or not. Had the umpires spotted it they might or might not have given the penalty runs.

Here is the video:

Facebook Comments