Cricket Australia Announces 14-Man Squad for First Two Tests against India

Cricket Australia has recently released the 14-man squad for the Test series against India. The series is scheduled to begin from December 6.

The Victoria opener Marcus Harris has performed consistently in the Sheffield Shield season. As a result he has been rewarded with a maiden call-up to the Test squad. Peter Handscomb has also returned after missing out in the Pakistan series in the UAE.

Harris is currently the highest run-scorer in the Shield season. He has scored 437 runs from 6 games with a highest score of 250*.

Once Matt Renshaw has been benched after missing two Tests in the UAE. He was hit on the head and had problems due to concussion. Moreover his lack of match-practice prevented him to make the playing XI.

“Marcus Harris has forced his way into the squad after an impressive start to the Sheffield Shield campaign for Victoria, and in recent times has performed in high pressure matches, including Sheffield Shield finals. Not only has he made plenty of runs, he’s displayed the mental application we believe is required to compete at Test cricket,” the national selector Trevor Hohns was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

The other Victoria player is Chris Tremain, who has been excellent with the ball. He took 24 wickets in eight innings which included three five-wicket hauls.

Usman Khawaja has also been retained in the squad. He had a real tough time to get fit before the series opener in Adelaide. However he will have to play one Sheffield Shield game ahead of the series to prove his fitness.

Cricket Australia (CA) has said that they will announce the final 12-man squad one day prior to the game. The remaining two players will be released so that they could take part in the domestic season.

“We will select a final team of 12 prior to each Test, and the two remaining squad members will be released to get important match time in the Sheffield Shield. We believe all players chosen deserve their selection in the squad, and we’re confident given the opportunity all will apply themselves well against India,” Hohns added.

Australia squad for first two Tests: Aaron Finch, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood (vc), Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh (vc), Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine (c,wk), Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain, Peter Siddle