Australian Cricket Team Gets Fined Due To Slow Over Rate during the Brisbane T20I

Australia has been handed a fine due to their maintenance of slow over rate during the first T20I match against India in the Gabba at Brisbane. The match was affected by rain which the Aussies won by four runs (DLS Method).

Jeff Crowe, who is the member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, imposed a fine on the team. It was found that Aaron Finch’s side were one over short of the target when the time was taken into consideration.

The Article 2.5.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Players Support Personnel states that when there is a minor over-rate offenses, the players of the team will be fined 10 percent while the captain will be fined double that amount.

The charge on the Australian team was brought by on-field umpires Simon Fry and Paul Wilson, third umpire Gerard Abood, and fourth umpire Shawn Craig.

As a result captain Aaron Finch was fined 20 percent of his match fees while all the other players were fined 10 percent of their respective match fees.

It is also stated that if Australia repeats the same offence in a T20I within 12 months with Finch as the captain, then Finch will have to face a suspension. However no formal hearing was required as Finch pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction after the match.

In the match Australia batted first and scored 158/7 in 17 overs. Glenn Maxwell (46 runs off 24 balls) and Marcus Stoinis (33 runs off 19 balls) were the star performers as the duo added a quick-fire 78 runs for the fourth wicket.

After rain intervened the macth was decided to be played 17 overs-a-side. Under DRS rules India was given a revised target of 174. But the Aussies stopped the Men in Blue for 169/7.

Adam Zampa took two crucial wickets in his 4 overs and gave only 22 runs. Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan scored 76 off 42 balls before getting out to Billy Stanlake in the 12th over.

The second T20I was played in Melbourne on November 23, but was unfortunately called off due to persistent rain. The series decider will now be played at Sydney Cricket Ground on November 25.