Australia Name Squad For ODI Series Against India

Cricket Australia have already announced 14-man squad for the three-match ODI series against India. The announcement has marked the return of three senior players in the squad.

The hosts have included Usman Khawaja to strengthen their batting lineup. Pacer Peter Siddle and spinner Nathan Lyon has also been included. The biggest surprise was the inclusion of Siddle. This is because the 34-year-old last played an ODI back in 2010.

The three-match ODI series will begin from January 12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Six players who have previously played against South Africa have been excluded.

Skipper Aaron Finch and his deputy Alex Carey have been included. Along with them Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa and Shaun Marsh have also been retained in the squad.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Lynn, Head and Short dropped from the squad

Among the batsmen Travis Head, Chris Lynn, D’Arcy Short and Ben McDermott have been excluded. Pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile and all-rounder Ashton Agar have also been left out.

Along with them pace trio of Mitch Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have been rested. This is because to reduce their workload before the upcoming World Cup.

It was a concious move by Trvor Hohns, the leader of the selction unit, to revamp the batting lineup. The likes of Head, Short and Lynn were given an extended rope to prove themselves. However they could make it count and failed to qualify for the ODI side.

Hohns said in a statement:

Travis Head, Darcy Short and Chris Lynn have been unlucky to miss out. All three have had opportunities to cement their spots, but unfortunately, they have not been as productive as we would have liked in recent times when playing ODI cricket for Australia.

The bowling department has some new faces and performers of Big Bash League (BBL) were rewarded. Along with Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff and Billy Stanlake are the pacers. Mitch Marsh has been kept as an option of all-rounder.

“Nathan Coulter-Nile recently experienced some lower back soreness, and on the advice of our medical staff we weren’t prepared to risk selecting Nathan in the side given the demands of the upcoming ODI series,” Hohns said.

Australia squad for the ODI series against India:

Aaron Finch (C), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa