Afghanistan Announce 23 Players For World Cup 2019

Image Source : Hindustan Times

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has named their initial 23 players for the upcoming World Cup. These initial players will now practice hard in South Africa for the next few days to come.

They will also play six practice games there. After the team returns back to Kabul, the ACB selectors will then name the final 15-member squad. The mega tournament begins from May 30 in England and Wales.

Former captain Asghar Afghan was recently removed from the post of captaincy. However he is kept in the initial 23 players squad. Gulbadin Naib, who was named the new captain, is set to lead the team in the World Cup. Rahmat Shah and Rashid Khan are named captains in Test and T20Is respectively.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Rasooli and Qais also included

Rashid Khan is the vice-captain of the team. However Rashid and Mohammad Nabi are given leeway to play the ongoing IPL. Both the players are plying their trade for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Talented Darwish Rasooli has found his name on the list. He performed impressively in the Afghanistan Premier League (APL) last year. The entire squad is talented and it remains to be see who all make the final cut.

The 15-man squad will play two ODIs each with Scotland and Ireland in May. They will then play one ODI each against Pakistan and England. After these matches their World Cup campaign will begin against Australia on June 1.

Afghanistan’s 23 players squad:

Gulbadin Naib (c), Rashid Khan (vc), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Najib Zadran, Darwish Rasooli, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Shapoor Zadran, Hamid Hassan, Karim Janat, Qais Ahmad, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Sayed Shirzad, Samiullah Shinwari.