Second ODI between India and West Indies Shifted From Indore to Vishakhapatnam

The two-match Test series between India and West Indies has started. After the Test series both the nations will play a five-match ODI series which will start from October 21.

Cricket news: According to the new rules of BCCI constitution, it is mandatory to put up 90 percent of tickets for sale to public

But recent reports have suggested that the second ODI which was scheduled to be played at Holkar Stadium in Indore on October 24, has been shifted to Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Vishakhapatnam.

Previously there was a tussle between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association (MPCA) regarding ticket sales.

According to the new constitution of BCCI, 90 percent of tickets should be made available for the public, which means out of 27,000 tickets only 2,700 tickets could be used up for other purposes.

However BCCI has demanded that free passes should be given to sponsors, BCCI members and BCCI sub-committee members which has enraged MPCA.


Milind Kanmadikar, who is the joint secretary of MPCA, strongly said that they will not accept the conditions of the world’s cricket board.

“The managing committee of MPCA has decided that it is not possible to organise the second ODI between India and West Indies in Indore if BCCI doesn’t back down from its demand of complimentary tickets. We have intimated BCCI.

“We cannot accept BCCI’s demand for hospitality tickets. We have only 7000 seats in the pavilion (hospitality) gallery and going by 10 percent, we would be left with only 700 seats. Now if we give five percent of that, we are left with only 350 hospitality tickets,” he was quoted as saying in Cricbuzz.

“Even we have to cater demands of our members, various government agencies. We also have only 10 percent complimentaries in our state unit’s constitution but from that, we can give the amount (five percent from each gallery) BCCI wants,” he added.

Apart from Vishakhapatnam, the other venues for the other four matches are Guwahati, Pune, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram.