RCB & KKR Need to Shrug off Inconsistency

It is the return leg as the two inconsistent teams, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders, face each other to change their fortunes and return in the race for the play-offs.

Cricket News: The two teams should make their bowling more efficient

Since the two teams had last met in the 3rd match of this season’s IPL, lot of things have changed. KKR’s once-inspiring captain, Gautam Gambhir, has stepped down from the role of Delhi’s captain. While several ex-RCB players, like Chris Gayle, KL Rahul and Shane Watson, have fared well so far for their new franchises.

Since last meet, both the teams have won just two games each and had experienced a bumpy ride. KKR are in a better place, sitting at the fourth position, but they may lose to the spot to their immediate competitors, Rajasthan Royals, even before they get on the field. RCB are currently in sixth position and need to change their gear if they are to reach the play-offs.

While RCB had got time to reflect upon their mistakes after they lost to CSK on April 25, KKR could not fancy such an opportunity, as they have made their way to Bangalore just a day after they lost to Delhi by a big margin.

Both are teams are suffering from bowling incompetency and has the worst economy rates so far (RCB− 9.70, KKR− 9.28). RCB’s death bowling has been at its worst as they have conceded at a rate of 13.30 this year. KKR is also facing the same problem as they conceded 79 runs in last five overs against Delhi.

The main agenda for RCB on Sunday is to improve their bowling attack. While KKR should properly use their spinners to pick up early wickets, especially of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, so that RCB cannot score more than an above-par total.

Venue− M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

RCB Probable XI: Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Corey Anderson, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhomme/Moeen Ali, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Kulwant Khejroliya

KKR Probable XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik, Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Tom Curran, Prasidh Krishna/Vinay Kumar