Kohli Slams Umpires After No-Ball Error In 20th Over

It seems that IPL and controversy always goes hand-in-hand. After the ‘Mankading’ incident between Ashwin and Buttler, IPL 2019 faced yet another controversial situation.

This time it involved umpire S Ravi who missed a most crucial no-ball. It happened in the match between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Chinnaswamy stadium on Thursday.

The encounter was live right till the last ball. RCB needed 17 runs from the last over off Lasith Malinga’s bowling. Shivam Dube hit a six off the first ball, but veteran Malinga came back strongly. The equation came down to seven off the last delivery with Dube on strike.

Mumbai players discussed long as Dube took stance to take the game to the super over. However Malinga’s low full toss was impossible to hit. Dube managed to hit it to the long-on fielder and both the teams shook hands.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Huge controversy and Kohli’s reaction

However there was a huge twist in the tale. Replays showed that Malinga has clearly overstepped the line but umpire S Ravi has missed it completely. This created a huge outrage in the RCB camp and skipper Virat Kohli lashed out at the umpiring in the post-match presentation ceremony.

Kohli said, “We are playing at the IPL level and not playing club cricket. The umpires should have had their eyes open. That is a ridiculous call at the last ball. If it is a game of margins, I don’t know what is happening. They should have been more sharp and careful out there.”

When asked what other mistakes did RCB make in the game, Kohli said, “When they were 145 for 7, we should have done better. The last few overs were brutal for us. A few more strikes apart from AB could have done the job for us. We need to be smarter at death bowling.”

He added, “Sure they guys will take a lot of learnings from the game. I think the way they bowled, we can learn from their game. The onus is always on each and every member of the team. I got out at a wrong point of time. Shivam was good as well. I mean Jassi is a top-class bowler. A bit of a mistake from me to take him on at that stage. Mumbai is lucky to have him. And also Malinga. And if Jassi is in good form, it is good for India.”

Rohit Sharma criticizes too

MI captain Rohit Sharma was elated after the win but he too criticized the umpiring. He said, “I just got to know when we crossed the rope. These kind of things are not good for cricket, one of the Bumrah’s deliveries wasn’t a wide. Players can’t do much. Very disappointed to see that.”

It remains to be seen whether BCCI gives an official statement regarding this or not. The huge blunder from the umpires clearly costed RCB and resulted in MI’s first win of the season.

Here is the video of the no-ball:

Leave a Reply