David Warner Set to Make a Cricket Comeback

Australian cricketer David Warner is all set to make a cricket comeback with his teammate Steve Smith at the Global T20 Canada League, after he was drafted in by Winnipeg Hawks on June 3.

Cricket news: Warner is going to make his first appearance since receiving a 12-month ban

Earlier the former captain of Australia, Steve Smith, was named as one of the 10 proposed marquee players of the tournament.

The other marquee players are Shahid Afridi, David Miller, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Darren Sammy and Lasith Malinga.

The tournament is going to be played between six teams, who will play 22 games among themselves starting from June 28 and the final is scheduled to be played on July 15.

Smith, Warner and Cameron Bancroft got involved in the infamous ball tampering scandal against South Africa in Newlands Test that took place earlier this year.

Cricket Australia had banned Smith and Warner for 12 months while Bancroft got a 9-months ban. But the banned troika were later cleared and was allowed to play grade cricket.

Warner, along with Bancroft, will also feature in the Darwin Strike League which will be played in July.

While Bancroft will play the entire tournament, the former Australia vice-captain Warner will play two 50-over matches on July 21 and 22 for his club Randwick Petersham which is situated in Sydney.

Final team listings:

During the players’ drafting which was conducted on June 3, a coach was allowed to choose two marquee players from the list and then select 14 other players from a pool.

Toronto Nationals were allowed to make the first pick and there were four spots kept aside in each side which were reserved for Canadians.

Toronto Nationals:

Darren Sammy [marquee player], Steven Smith [marquee player], Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Ruman Rias, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Naveed Ahmed, Nazakat Khan, Farhan Malik, Nitesh Kumar, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Muhammad Umair Ghani

Vancouver Knights:

Chris Gayle [marquee player], Andre Russell [marquee player], Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Hiral Patel, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Jeremy Gordon

Winnipeg Hawks:

Dwayne Bravo [marquee player], David Miller [marquee player], David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddique, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip

Montreal Tigers:

Lasith Malinga [marquee player], Sunil Narine [marquee player], Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Mohammad Ibrahim Khaleel, Dilon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyankhan Pathan

Edmonton Royals:

Shahid Afridi [marquee player], Chris Lynn [marquee player], Luke Ronchi, Mohammed Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Anmar Khalid, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Simon Pervez, Abraash Khan

There is a sixth team, which will represent Cricket West Indies, and will also take part in the tournament.