BCCI Reveals 14-Man Squad for First Two ODIs against the Windies

After the completion of the two-match Test series, India and Windies will face each other for a five-match ODI series.

Cricket news: The ODI series between the two teams will start from October 21

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently released the 14-man squad for the first two ODI matches in the series.

As expected Rishabh Pant has got a chance in place of Dinesh Karthik, who played some middling scores in the Asia Cup while batting at number four in the Asia Cup.

Skipper Virat Kohli has not been rested for the series and will continue to lead the side. Pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah has been given rest keeping in mind of the workload as they are reserved for the upcoming Australia tour.

Mohammed Shami has been recalled to the ODI side while pacer Khaleel Ahmed, who had an impressive debut in the Asia Cup, retains his place in the team.

The selectors have kept their fact on Ambati Rayudu for the all-important number four position after his impressive performances in the Asia Cup. Manish Pandey also retains his place in the squad.

It will be interesting to see where Rishabh Pant gets to bat as his exploits in the longer format has earned him his place in the shorter format. It will be also seen whether Kohli is rested after the first two ODIs.

India’s squad for first two ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul