Purple Cap – The Crown For The Best Bowler In IPL

Since the inaugural of IPL (Indian Premier League), it has gained huge popularity. The IPL is a Twenty20 cricket competition which is played every year in India.

IPL was founded in 2008 by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is the most popular league in the world and is watched by huge number of fans from all over the world.

Since this year there has been total twelve seasons of the tournament. The first season was won by Rajasthan Royals while the current title holders are Mumbai Indians. This is the 4th title for MI and all these came under their skipper Rohit Sharma.

IPL 2019 Champions Mumbai Indians
Image Source : MyKhel

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Awards given in IPL

The glorious tournament boasts of a huge prize money along with some individual awards too. These are the Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes Award, Most Valuable Player and Emerging Player of the Year.

Every year the prize money varies and in IPL 2019, the prize money has been ₹50 crore. The winning team (Mumbai Indians) received ₹20 crore. The runners-up Chennai Super Kings received ₹12.5 crores. The third-placed team Delhi Capitals and fourth-placed team Sunrises Hyderabad received ₹8.75 crore each.

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner David Warner
Image Source : DNA India

Origin of Purple Cap

When IPL was introduced in 2008, the first individual award was introduced a week later. On 25 April 2008, the award Orange Cap was introduced. It was decided that the batsman who will score most runs during the tournament, will wear the Orange Cap while fielding.

The recipient of the cap changed hands as almost after every match, the leading run-scorer changed. The player who ended the season as the leading run-scorer, got the Orange Cap award and cash prize.

IPL 2019 Purple Cap Winner Imran Tahir
Image Source : CricketCountry

Likewise the Purple Cap was introduced in the tournament on 13 May 2008. It was decided that the bowler who will take the most wickets during the course of the tournament, will get to wear the cap while fielding.

Just like the Orange Cap, the bowler with the most number of wickets at the end of the season will take home the Purple Cap trophy and cash prize. In case there is a tie, the bowler with the better economy rate will be named the winner.

After the introduction of the Purple Cap, then IPL chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi said, “We have seen over the course of the inaugural season of the League so far that bowlers have just as important a role to play in winning T20 matches as batsmen do.”

List of all Purple Cap winners till date

2008Pakistan Sohail Tanvir (RR)1122 
2009India R. P. Singh (DC)1623 
2010India Pragyan Ojha (DC)1621 
2011Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga (MI)1628 
2012South Africa Morne Morkel (DD)1625 
2013Trinidad and Tobago Dwayne Bravo (CSK)1832 
2014India Mohit Sharma (CSK)1623 
2015Trinidad and Tobago Dwayne Bravo (CSK)1624 
2016India Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)1723 
2017India Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)1426 
2018Australia  Andrew Tye (KXIP)1424 
2019South Africa Imran Tahir (CSK)1726