4 Times When Teams Forfeited World Cup Games

Image Source : The New York Times

The relationship between India and Pakistan is once again under strict observation. This has happened because of the recent terrorist attack in the Pulwama region of Kashmir.

In that deadly attack, more than 40 CRPF jawans lost their lives. The cowardly incident has deeply affected the nation. It has also impacted the cricketing relations between the two countries.

Many people have voiced their opinion regarding the forfeit of the World Cup game between the two nations. The game is scheduled to be played on 16 June. However if the game is forfeited, India will lose two points and Pakistan will be awarded the match.

In the pat there has been some instances where teams have forfeited matches due to security reasons. In those cases, the points lost came to haunt to in some cases.

However this would not affect India much due to longevity of the tournament. But it would end India’s dominance over their neighbouring nation in ODI and T20I World Cups.

More Articles Related To Cricket:

Here are four such cases where teams have forfeited their World Cup games:

4. Australia against Sri Lanka in 1996

Image Source : CricketCountry.com

Before the start of the 1996 World Cup match, a terrorist attack happened in Colombo just three weeks before. Almost 1000 people lost their lives due to the attack. As a result there were concerns regarding playing under such circumstances.

On the eve of the World Cup, a match was organized to put away the fears of insecurity. Sri Lanka played the game against Wills XI, a combined team with players from India and Pakistan.

The fifth game of the tournament was between Australia and Sri Lanka at the RPS Stadium in Colombo. It was the first game of the tournament for both the teams.

However Australia decided to withdraw from the game and stayed in Mumbai during the match. As a result Sri Lanka were given a walk-over and two points. Both the teams faced each other in final at Lahore. Sri Lanka defeated the Aussies by seven wickets and won their first World Cup.