Pakistan defeated Ireland on their home-soil in the first match itself



Ireland won the toss and elected to field first letting Pakistan to score a huge target for them. Sharjeel Khan played a tremendous innings of 152 runs, smashing 16 boundaries and 9 sixes where as captain Azhar Ali had to go for 1. Followed by Khan, Shoaib Malik stood undefeated on ground with 57 runs under his name. 53 runs came from the bat of Mohammad Nawaz and Mohammad Hafeez contributed 37 runs to his team. Pakistan put a challenge of 338 runs to Ireland after losing 6 wickets. Bowlers of Ireland tried very hard to dent Pakistan to lowest score but failed, Barry McCarthy starred for his team managing to pick up 4 wickets including a maiden where as bowlers like Peter Chase and Tim Murtagh could get a single man each.


Pakistan on the bowling side too performed well where Imad Wasim picked a fifer, Umar Gul carried away 3 wickets and Mohammad Amir able to pluck a single. The team dented Ireland to a total score of 82 runs and ended the whole game within 24 overs making their first victory in rival-ground of 255 runs.